European Qualifications Framework

The European Qualifications Framework, in English “European Qualifications Framework” (generally abbreviated as EQF) is a system that allows comparing the professional qualifications of citizens of European countries. “Qualification” means a formal certification issued by a competent authority at the end of a training course as proof of having acquired competences compatible with the standards established by the national education system.


Starting from February 14, 2008, for each qualification issued in Europe the corresponding level of EQF can be identified and this allows comparing qualifications acquired in different countries.

The EQF adopts a system based on the learning outcomes obtained at the end of the training course.

Learning outcomes are defined in terms of knowledge, skills and competences. The overall result is an index, between 1 and 8, called QEQ, which aims to quickly and unambiguously identify the level of detail reached in a certain field.

The Member States of the U.E. they had to relate their national qualifications to the EQF system by 2010, and they will have to indicate the corresponding EQF qualification in their courses by 2012.

In simpler words, the European Qualifications Framework divides European education levels from Level 1 (compulsory education) to Level 8 (Ph.D):

Do you want to receive more information?

Open chat
Salve, come posso aiutarti? :)
Call Now Button

Questo sito utilizza cookie tecnici e di profilazione, anche di terze parti. Se chiudi questo banner o prosegui con la navigazione cliccando un elemento della pagina ne accetti l’utilizzo. Se vuoi scegliere quali cookie accettare clicca qui. Leggi la COOKIE POLICY completa

Some contents or functionalities here are not available due to your cookie preferences!

This happens because the functionality/content marked as “%SERVICE_NAME%” uses cookies that you choosed to keep disabled. In order to view this content or use this functionality, please enable cookies: